Monday, 18 March 2013

Six Nations - round 5

The fifth round of Six Nations is over. It’s time for a short round up. Despite losing the first game, Wales won all remaining matches and triumphed in Europe for the second year in a row! The Welsh had to win the game in Cardiff by at least seven points, to secure the victory in the tournament. They accomplished this task brilliantly. They were a better team; they dominated their rivals and won 30:3. Congratulations!

On the other Saturday’s game Italians tasted a historic victory defeating Ireland 22:15. There was a lot of drama in the game. Referee showed four yellow cards, including two for the world class leaders - Brian O’Driscoll and Sergio Parisse. The Italians once again confirmed that they belong to the world’s elite. Rome is slowly becoming a fortress where away victories are not an easy thing to achieve.

In the final Saturday’s game France managed to win for the first time in this Tournament. They defeated Scotland 23:16. The man of the match Wesley Fofana was the key player. He scored a very important try and constantly challenged opponents’ defense. Despite the win, France finished on the last place, so the wooden spoon is going to Paris. This is a big surprise as the French were one of the favorites to the trophy.

This year’s Six Nations Championship was very interesting. As usual games were tense, although bad weather conditions prevented scoring too many tries. The spectators witnessed some unexpected results. The biggest surprise is probably the French awful performance! Scotland and Italy showed some great spirit and good skills. Ireland has not managed to achieve anything spectacular as they were heavily hit with injuries.  The two teams which have plenty to cheer are England and Wales. Both have very good, young, talented players. Some of them already sealed their place in the British and Irish Lions squad.

Below you will find the final standings and my XV of the Championship.

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Wales)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Wales)
13. Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland)
12. Wesley Fofana (France)
11. George North (Wales)
10. Dan Biggar (Wales)
9. Ben Youngs (England)

1. Cian Healy (Ireland)
2. Rory Best (Ireland)
3. Adam Jones (Wales)
4. Alun-Wyn Jones (Wales)
5. Jim Hamilton (Scotland)
6. Sam Warburton (Wales)
7. Chris Robshaw (England)
8. Sergio Parisse (Italy)