Saturday, 11 August 2012

The Rugby Championship is about to start

Olympic Games which captured attentions of many rugby fans, are nearly over. The oval-ball lovers can’t complain about the lack of excitement. Next weekend (18.08.2012) a history will be made with the start of new tournament – The Rugby Championship – which is going to replace Tri Nations.

The best three rugby teams – New Zealand, Australia and South Africa, will be joined by the eighth in the IRB ranking Argentina. Pumas will face Springboks in their debut. As usual, the favorite to win the tournament is New Zealand which succeeded in winning Tri Nations 10 times. The teams from South Africa and Australia won three times each. We will soon find out if mighty All Blacks will dominate the new competition and how well Argentina will perform in this challenging environment.

Below you can find tournament fixtures.

Saturday 18 August:
Australia v New Zealand
South Africa v Argentina

Saturday 25 August:
New Zealand v Australia
Argentina v South Africa

Saturday 8 September:
Australia v South Africa
New Zealand v Argentina

Saturday 15 September:
Australia v Argentina
New Zealand v South Africa

Saturday 29 September:
South Africa v Australia
Argentina v New Zealand

Saturday 6 October:
South Africa v New Zealand
Argentina v Australia